branch council wrap

Helen Richardson, Branch President, reports back from the latest Branch Council meeting held on Friday, 13 May, in Hobart.

At this term’s Branch Council new Councillors undertook Governance training, a requirement under the Fair Work Act.  Other Councillors were updated on the Gonski campaign and completed their individual Gonski stories.

Roz Madsen, State Manager, informed Councillors about Union Aid Abroad (APHEDA), highlighting the importance of unions having involvement in social justice issues.

Councillors were updated on the extremely successful Leaders Convention and preparation for the inaugural Public Education Day Dinner which was held on 25th May.

A Sub-Branch Motion was unanimously passed: the AEU to request that the DoE continue to fund EAL students until they have reached a level of English where they can access the language content of the mainstream classroom. EAL students should not sit NAPLAN tests until an agreed base standard has been reached.

Steve Walsh, Secretary of Unions Tasmania, spoke to Council about the ACTU’s Build a Better Future campaign, and how it links into our Gonski campaign.

The Branch Council casual vacancy elections have now been completed and we will be welcoming the following new Branch Councillors at Annual Branch Council to be held on 12 August 2016.

  • South: Mark Bowden, David Genford, Dianne Vickers, Marney Wickham.
  • North: Bella Mitchell.
  • Support Staff: Lisa Young.
  • TAFE: Simon Bailey, Stephen Deverell, Benjamin Wright.